RSS

Trying out a new story…

09 Jan

English: Schematic map of the italian regions ...

So here I am, writing for my 15 minutes. I really don’t know what to say today.

I have put in my time starting a story. It’s about a girl who is almost out of Julliard as a Cello player, has a wealthy boyfriend, and some good prospects. All she and her parents have trained her for are about to come to fruition. She is a small town girl who works hard to fit in with the New York crowd. She never wants to go back to small town life, in fact, and it doesn’t look like she has to. However her life takes a turn when all but 1 auditions fall through, and that audition takes her to Italy, where she knows no one, doesn’t know the language, or the atmosphere. She loses even that prospect and has to face that she may not be as good as she thinks she is.

Dejected, she starts the short journey to the airport when her wallet and identity are stolen. She is stuck and has to rely on others to survive in Italy. Through a kind man, she ends up playing in a small group for a traveling opera around the smaller regions of the country. She learns to rely on small town people to keep her going, and she finds a love of the country and a man.  She also finds out what it is to let go of fortune and fame, and embrace service and love.

I like it, but we will see how it really takes off, when I start fleshing it out.

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Trying out a new story…

  1. Jerry Salisbury

    January 9, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    Since I have been unable to work I have thrown myself completely into my local theater company that I have been involved with as the PR director. As such I deal with script submissions and story ideas as well having multiple great minds to tap into. So I’d like to say, with some degree of an educated statement, that I feel this is a great story idea. Definitely not a short story or a play or anything but if developed and fleshed out right it could be a great story and one I’d definitely read.

    Like

     
    • free2live282000

      January 10, 2013 at 4:47 am

      Thanks for your input. I look forward to fleshing this story out and seeing where it takes me. 🙂

      Like

       

Let's hear from you!

 
